People catching ferries from Dublin to Holyhead
may wonder how the Welsh port came to be chosen as the ferry terminal.
Now, thanks to a new historical study of a ruined estate in north Wales, visitors to the area will be able to learn more.
Plas Brynkir in Gwynedd has been a ruin since the mid-20th century, but recent excavations have revealed many of its secrets, the BBC reports.
Built in the 12th century, it was bought in 1809 by Captain Joseph Huddart, a surveyor whose job was to choose between Porthmadog and Holyhead as the area's ferry port for Irish Sea crossings, although he died before actually moving in.
The estate's former stable block still stands and is now Cwm Pennant Youth Hostel, where an open day highlighting the Cardiff team's discoveries about the estate's history has been held today (August 14th).
Visitors staying at the hostel may learn more and can also discover the large number of historic ruins that are scattered around north Wales.
Examples include the derelict Dolbadarn Castle in Llanberis and Baron Hill Mansion at Beaumaris on Anglesey.
Posted by Andrew Smith